Contents

Re-Auth

 

A Re-Auth is a process where a new Authorisation can be performed using the same credit/debit card as a previous transaction.

 


 

Requirements

User
This functionality is only available to those with the following user roles:

Site admin, Site user, Site user 2, Transaction admin, Transaction admin 2

Warning
If re-using previously stored credentials, Visa and Mastercard have mandated that you set the Credentials on file field to “2 – Scheduled payment using stored credentials”.

 

If this transaction is to be a Merchant Initiated Transaction (MIT) (opposed to a Customer Initiated Transaction or CIT), Visa has mandated that you specify the reason for the payment, by selecting a value in the Initiation reason field.

 

You must ensure the initiation reason selected correctly represents the reason for the new payment. Visa may introduce new values to this list in the future.

 

Click here for further information on this mandate.

 


 

How to perform a Re-Auth

1
Select transaction(s) for re-authorisation

 

  • Method 1: Type in the full transaction reference into the universal search at the top of any MyST page and submit to view transaction details.

 

 

  • Method 2: Select “Transactions” from the left and then “Transaction search“. Perform a search and:
    • Either: Tick the checkboxes down the left of the table for the transactions you would like to action. In this manner, you can action multiple requests at once.
    • Or: Click a transaction reference displayed in the results table to view further details.

2
Select the action

 

Click the “Re-auth” button displayed near the bottom of the page.

 

 


 

If there is not enough space to display all options, these will be combined into a single “Actions” button. Click to expand, like so:

 

 

3
Allowed and Disallowed transactions

 

If successful, the page displayed will be pre-filled with details inherited from the selected transaction(s).

 

 

You should check the “Summary” table at the top of the page, which displays the number of selected transactions that are “Allowed” and “Disallowed”. Disallowed transactions are not suitable for the desired action and are not displayed on the page.

 


 

Why have some of the selected transactions been disallowed?

 

This can occur for a number of reasons, including:

  • You may have selected a transaction where the payment method doesn’t support re-authorisation, e.g. an Alternative Payment Method (APM). Please refer to our documentation for Payment Pages or our API for further information about a given APM.
  • You may have selected a request type that does not support re-authorisation, e.g. THREEDQUERY.
4
Fill out the form

 

Check the values displayed on-screen and make any necessary adjustments. By default, a re-authorisation of the same amount will be processed. You can opt to change the amount by changing the value on the form for a given transaction.

 

 


 

You click the “+” icon on the left to expand the form and display additional fields that can be changed prior to re-authorisation. Of particular importance, you may wish to check the following:

 

  • Check the expiry date is still valid on the customer’s card. If the customer has renewed their card and has a new expiry date, you can enter the new value on the form to proceed.
  • We do not store the security code associated with the customer’s card on our severs. You can prompt the customer for their security code and enter this on the form. This allows security code checks to be performed.

 

 

 


 

When you are ready to process the request, click “Re-Auth” at the bottom of the page.

Info
Rules cannot be inherited by child authorisations. They will only be performed on Re-Auth transactions if active in the Rule manager.

 


 

Handling the response

If the action was processed successfully, you should see a green success message at the top of the page. For each row under the “Successfully Processed Transactions” header, you can click the “+” icon to view the full response for each action processed.

 

 

A summary table will also be displayed at the top of the page, counting Success and Error cases.

 

Troubleshooting errors

If errors have occurred, the transactions you attempted to action should remain on screen. Check the error code and message for further information on the nature of the problem. In some cases (e.g. a field error), you can correct a mistake on the form and resubmit. Invalid fields are highlighted in red. Ensure you click the “+” icon on the left as the field that is causing the error may be hidden.